The Big Day!

Monday,  September 24, 2012

Good Afternoon To YOU!

YESTERDAY

Yesterday may not have been what you wanted it to be but today is a brand new day and tomorrow will be too.  Fresh, with no mistakes in it. :)

TODAY

I tried several times to post my blog today but nothing would work right.  At one point it even posted while I was typing it out.  I paused a moment to collect my thoughts and wham!  there it went, straight to the blog.  I had to quickly trash it and try again.  I waited a couple of hours and tried again and now everything seems to be going fine except the font size.

RECOMMENDED READING

This week  it is White Columns in Georgia by Medora Field Perkerson.  This book was published in 1952.  I realize that wasn’t yesterday. LOL But this work is very well written and tells stories behind many of the old houses throughout the state.  It has many photographs of those grand and some not so grand homes, many of which were built during the antebellum era.  A good read and you’ll be fascinated.  Trust me.

WORD KNOWLEDGE

SAGACITY

sa·gac·i·ty   (s-gs-t)

n.

1.  The quality of being discerning, sound in judgment, and farsighted; wisdom.
2.  The mental ability to understand and discriminate between relations.
3.  Foresight, discernment, or keen perception; ability to make good judgments
[French sagacité, from Old French sagacite, from Latin sagcits, quickness of perception, from sagx, sagc-, of keen perception; see sagacious.]

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.  —Lao-Tze

THE DAILY BREAD

The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.  (Luke 18:27)

You and I are looking  directly into the face of situations in our nation that need to be dramatically changed.  Some of those situations look totally impossible. But they’re not. Because this country belongs to God.  It was founded on God and has been outstandingly blessed by God.  He’s the One who brought the United States of America into existence. He had a special purpose for it. He needed a country where the gospel could be preached freely and not suppressed.  He brought the U.S. about in this timeline to do just that. To preach the gospel and to be a witness in these last days, of Him, His power, glory and love. 

It was God Himself Who stirred the heart and mind of Christopher Columbus and planted within him the dream of charting a new course to the West.  Columbus said so in his own journals. He wrote: “It was the Lord Who put into my mind–I could feel His hand upon me–the fact that I could sail from here to the Indies. All who heard of my project rejected it with laughter, ridiculing me. There’s no question that the inspiration was from the Holy Spirit because He comforted me with rays of marvelous inspiration from the Holy Scriptures.”

Who brought Christopher Columbus to America? God brought him. This is God’s nation. He raised it up, and it’s not going to be taken away from Him.  The next time you’re tempted to look at situations in this country as impossible, remember Who this nation belongs to. It doesn’t belong to the devil.  It belongs to God.  Things have not yet progressed to the point of no return.  If we seek God, He can pour out of His Spirit, send us another Great Awakening and we can see our finest hours are yet to be.  When you and I do this, we can realize the goal of this nation on fire for God.  We can do it if we do it by faith.  God will hear our prayers of faith.  Nothing is impossible with God.

If you would like details on the founding of this country that you were probably not taught in school, read The Light and the Glory by Peter Marshal and David Manuel.

ON THE LIGHTER SIDE

The Stroller

A man staggered home from the corner bar pushing a baby in a new stroller.

His wife yelled, “You drunken idiot!”  “That’s not our baby!”

“Yeah, I know,” he said, “but what a stroller!”


The Big Day

A young man about to become a father for the first time, with the baby due to arrive at some point during the week of the Superbowl.

His friend said: “What will you do if your wife is having the baby on the same day that the game plays?”

“Don’t worry, I just bought a camcorder and a tripod.   I can watch the birth after the game.”

_________________________

Jesus is coming soon!

Love to all

Pastor Hyers

About pastorhyers

I am one of those preachers your parents warned you about. LOL I'm a full gospel, tongue talking, Bible believing, Pentecostal, Word of Faith, Holy Spirit anointed, preacher/teacher with a slightly mischievous bent. I love God and the Word of God. I love helping others make it through lifes troubled spots. I also fancy myself as a Southern Gentleman. I value good manners and highly value walking in love toward everyone and putting God's Word first place.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Bible, Humor, My Life and Times, Pentecostal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Harriett Seckinger

    I have this weeks book selection. It is a good one. I have read part of “The Harbinger.” It is certainly a page-turner. I watched a movie today about William Tyndale. I do so admire William Tyndale. He is a hero. That is very interesting information about Christopher Columbus. He is a hero too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

